content_02-dirigent

Conductor

In 2009 he took charge of the “Turkmen-Austrian Symphony Orchestra Galkynys” as artistic director and conductor.

Wolfgang Harrer was born in Vienna in 1953 and started playing the piano at the age of six. When he began to study conducting at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna, Wolfgang Harrer was taught by the legendary Hans Swarowsky. After a break he received refinements from Otmar Suitner, who at the time was the chief conductor and artistic director of the Berlin State Opera and conductor in Bayreuth. In the winter of 1991, Wolfgang Harrer assisted the chief conductor and artistic director Hans Wallat for two months with the German Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf.

He has performed as a guest with many orchestras including the Chinese Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Budapest State Opera, the National Chamber Orchestra of Azerbaijan, the National Philharmonic Orchestra of Macedonia and various opera houses. His repertoire ranges from baroque to modern avantgarde music, and he does not wish to specialize on any particular style or period. As he is Viennese, he gives great importance to the Strauß family’s music and its tasteful interpretation.

Wolfgang Harrer enjoys supporting young musicians, be they instrumentalists, singers or conductors. He has recorded CDs with Eldar Saparayev, a Kazakh cellist, and Olivia De Prato, an Austrian Italian violinist, and has assisted many young singers in making concert appearances. Wolfgang Harrer founded a course and competition for the purpose of supporting young conductors. On the other hand he performs with famous soloists such as Lucia Aliberti, Vesselina Kasarova or Neil Shicoff.

content_02-dirigent

Dirigent

Seit 2009 ist Harrer ist künstlerischer Leiter und Dirigent des „Turkmenisch-Österreichischen Symphonieorchesters Galkynys“.

Wolfgang Harrer wurde 1953 in Wien geboren. Er erhielt seinen ersten musikalischen Unterricht am Klavier im Alter von 6 Jahren. Sein Dirigierstudium an der Universität für Musik in Wien begann er beim legendären Hans Swarowsky, und holte sich seinen letzten Schliff nach einer mehrjährigen Pause bei Otmar Suitner, dem damaligen Generalmusikdirektor der Berliner Staatsoper und Dirigent in Bayreuth. Im Winter 1991 ging er für zwei Monate als Assistent des Generalmusikdirektors Hans Wallat an die Deutsche Oper am Rhein, Düsseldorf.

Er war Gast vieler Orchester, zum Beispiel dem Chinesischen Rundfunk Symphonieorchester, dem Orchester der Budapester Staatsoper, dem Nationalen Kammerorchester von Azerbeidschan, der Nationalphilharmonie Mazedonien sowie an Opernhäusern. Sein Repertoire reicht, bewusst ohne Schwerpunkte zu setzen, von Barockmusik bis zur Moderne. Als gebürtiger Wiener ist ihm auch die Musik der Strauß Familie und ihre geschmackvolle Interpretation ein Anliegen.

Gerne fördert er auch junge Musiker, Instrumentalisten, Sänger und Dirigenten gleichermaßen. Mit dem kasachischen Cellisten Eldar Saparayev oder der österreichisch/italienisch/amerikanischen Geigerin Olivia De Prato nahm er CDs auf, vielen jungen Sängern verhalf er zu Konzertauftritten, zur Föderung junger Dirigenten gründete er eigens einen Kurs und Wettbewerb. Er arbeitet aber auch mit namhaften Solisten wie z.B. Lucia Aliberti, Vesselina Kasarova oder Neil Shicoff.