content_01-kontrabassist

Double bass player

Wolfgang Harrer was born in Vienna in 1953 and he was six years old when he had his first piano lesson. Wolfgang Harrer started playing the double bass at the Vienna Conservatory when he was 17 and a year later he became a student of Ludwig Streicher’s, the greatest double bass player of his time, at the University for Music, Vienna. Wolfgang Harrer also studied conducting, theory of music and education.

Wolfgang Harrer was co-principal of the double bass group of the Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna from 1978 to 1996, and principal for the Vienna Chamber Opera from 1979 to 1982. He has worked as a double bass professor since 1996 and since then performs regularly as a guest with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Vienna Chamber Orchestra.

After being awarded a degree in 1979, Wolfgang Harrer was employed by his former professor as his personal assistant at the Vienna University for Music. Wolfgang Harrer has been a double bass professor at the University of Music Saarland in Germany since 1996, and he was head of the orchestra music and conducting department there for twelve years. He has also taught at various courses and masterclasses in Europe, Asia and the USA.

Wolfgang Harrer’s published works have been produced under the Vienna Bass Edition label of the mvam publishing house.

He has been a member of the jury at several competitions.

Chamber music groups such as Melos Quartett, Klangforum, Die Reihe, Ensemble des 20. Jahrhunderts, Ensemble Kontrapunkte, and the Alt-Wiener-Octet have invited Wolfgang Harrer to perform with them. He has played in several ensembles through the years covering a wide range of styles from renaissance music on original instruments to the most current modern avantgarde.

His solo concerts with piano or orchestra accompaniment have led him through Austria, Germany, Italy, Poland, Spain, Portugal, Hungary, Cyprus, Philippines, Taiwan, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Panama and China. He has recorded various CDs and performed for numerous radio and television stations.

content_01-kontrabassist

Kontrabassist

Wolfgang Harrer wurde 1953 in Wien geboren. Er erhielt seinen ersten musikalischen Unterricht am Klavier im Alter von 6 Jahren. Mit 17 begann er sein Kontrabassstudium am Konservatorium der Stadt Wien, wechselte aber bereits ein Jahr später an die Wiener Musikakademie (heute: Universität für Musik in Wien) zu Ludwig Streicher, dem bedeutendsten Kontrabassisten seiner Zeit. Außerdem studierte er dort Dirigieren, Musiktheorie und Pädagogik.

Von 1978 bis 1996 war Harrer Stimmführer der Kontrabässe im Österreichischen Rundfunk Sinfonie Orchester und von 1979 bis 1982 auch Solobassist der Wiener Kammeroper. 1996 verließ er dieses Orchester zugunsten einer Lehrtätigkeit und spielt seither regelmäßig als Gast im Orchester der Wiener Staatsoper, der Wiener Philharmoniker und im Wiener Kammerorchester.

Nach dem künstlerischen Diplom 1979 engagierte ihn sein ehemaliger Lehrer als seinen Assistenten an die Wiener Musikhochschule. Seit 1996 ist er Professor für Kontrabass an der Hochschule für Musik in Saarbrücken in Deutschland. Dort war er auch zwölf Jahre lang Prodekan für Orchesterstudiengänge und Dirigieren. Er gab zahlreiche Kurse und Meisterklassen in Europa, Asien und USA.

Er ist ein begehrter Kammermusiker, der von vielen Ensembles eingeladen wird, so zum Beispiel vom Melos Quartett, dem Klangforum, dem Ensemble Die Reihe, Ensemble des 20. Jahrhunderts, Ensemble Kontrapunkte, Alt-Wiener-Octet und anderen. Im Zuge seiner Laufbahn war er Mitglied in zahlreichen Ensembles, die alle Stile von Renaissancemusik auf Originalinstrumenten bis zu modernster Avantgarde abdecken.

Im Verlag „mvam“ mit seiner „Vienna Bass Edition“ fand er einen kompetenten Partner für seine Musikpublikationen.

Er war Juror mehrerer Wettbewerbe.

Seine Solokonzerte mit Klavier- oder Orchesterbegleitung führten ihn durch Österreich, Deutschland, Italien, Polen, Spanien, Portugal, Ungarn, Zypern, Philippinen, Taiwan, Argentinien, Chile, Kolumbien, Panama und China. Er nahm mehrere CDs auf und spielte für viele Radio- und Fernsehstationen.