content_03-paedagoge

Teacher

From the start of his career, Wolfgang Harrer has wanted to pass his knowledge and experience as a bass player and conductor on to the next generation of musicians.

Double bass: Wolfgang Harrer was twentysix years old when Ludwig Streicher discovered his talent for teaching and hired Wolfgang as his teaching assistant at the Universität für Musik, and he started working as soon as he had received his diploma.

In October 1979, Wolfgang started teaching alongside the most famous double bass player, Ludwig Streicher, who granted him complete responsibility for the teaching of many of his students. They taught together for seventeen years.

In 1996 he took on a professorship for double bass at the University of Music Saarland, and his aim has been for his students to reach the highest level of proficiency on the instrument and so be equally qualified to play as soloists, chamber musicians or orchestra musicians.

Musicians who studied with him play with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, the Yomiuri Symphony Orchestra in Japan, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the National Symphony Orchestra Taipei in Taiwan, the Klangforum Wien, the Mannheim Chamber Orchestra and other top orchestras around the world.

Conducting: Working as an orchestra musician, yet being a qualified conductor in his own right, he had daily exposure to the frequent communication and technical problems which can and do arise between conductors and orchestra musicians. This experience inspired him to offer conducting courses.

In 1991 he founded the “Austrian-Hungarian Masterclasses for Music,” and through this was able to offer young conductors lessons and competitions through which to improve their skills. Combining a course with a competition was a unique concept and some eighty students took advantage of this opportunity.

His goals in teaching conducting are profound and interdisciplinary knowledge, unimpeachable and relaxed technical precision and clear communication with the musicians and singers.

content_03-paedagoge

Pädagoge

Schon früh war es Wolfgang Harrer ein Anliegen, seine Erfahrungen an die nächste Musikergeneration weiterzugeben, am Kontrabass sowie als Dirigent.

Kontrabass: Im Alter von 26 Jahren entdeckte Ludwig Streicher Harrers pädagogisches Talent und engagierte ihn unmittelbar nach seiner Diplomprüfung als Assistenten für seine Klasse an der Universität für Musik in Wien.

Im Oktober 1979 übernahm er diese verantwortungsvolle Stelle. Von Anfang an betraute ihn Ludwig Streicher fast ausschließlich mit Studenten, die er alleine unterrichtete. So arbeitete er 17 Jahre lang an der Seite des damals berühmtesten Kontrabassisten.

1996 wurde er an die Musikhochschule in Saarbrücken berufen, wo er seither Professor für Kontrabass ist. Sein Ziel ist die Heranbildung von höchstqualifizierten Kontrabassisten, die sich in jeder Situation, sei es als Solist, Kammermusiker und, am wichtigsten, als Orchestermusiker bewähren.

Seine Studenten spielen heute zum Beispiel bei den Wiener Philharmonikern, dem Yomiuri Symphony Orchestra/Japan, dem Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, im Mannheimer Kammerorchester, dem Klangforum Wien, dem Nationalen Philharmonischen Orchester Taiwan und anderen führenden Orchestern weltweit.

Dirigieren: Als ausgebildeter Dirigent konnte er während seiner Arbeit im Orchester täglich beobachten, wie unbefriedigend die Kommunikation zwischen Dirigent und Musiker oft verläuft, aber auch wie handwerkliche Probleme der Dirigenten die künstlerische Arbeit manchmal erheblich beeinträchtigen. So reifte in ihm der Gedanke, Dirigentenkurse abzuhalten.

1991 gründete er die „Österreichisch-Ungarischen Meisterkurse für Musik“ und hielt einmal im Jahr einen Kurs und Wettbewerb für junge Dirigenten ab. Dafür entwickelte er ein weltweit einmaliges Konzept, das auf einer Kombination von Kurs und Wettbewerb beruht. Etwa achtzig Studenten konnten hier ihr Können verbessern.

Seine Ziele im Dirigierunterricht sind umfassendes und interdisziplinäres kulturelles Wissen, eine makellose und lockere Schlagtechnik sowie richtige Kommunikation mit Musikern und Sängern.